The Queen Mother

I always found it rather ironic that THE Queen Victoria (you know, of England, Empress of India, and all that jazz) did not get along well with her mother. Because, surprise surprise, I don’t get along with my own mother. And of course you’re all gonna say “That’s just a teenage thing. You’ll get over it eventually and realize your mom was right all along.” Let me tell you, that is WRONG. It’s become something of a joke in my family that my mother and I get along better when we’re in different counties. It’s also becoming something of a family tradition: my mom couldn’t stand her mother and got along well with her grandmother, and I get along great with my mom’s mom but my mother…not so much. Which in turn makes me fear that I’m going to have a daughter that gets along with my mother and Lord help us now, the world does not need two of my mother.

Okay, I have to be honest. She’s not a terrible person. She’s a lovely woman and she has many friends and somehow manages to kick butt and take names. Its just that we are so opposite. And while we do occasionally get along, she usually ruins it by just being her. I do love my mother, don’t get me wrong, I just can’t stand her most of the time. Luckily for me, she’s not home frequently due to unfortunate family circumstances, but I just found out yesterday she’ll be home on a more permanent basis for the time being. I was already going insane before, and now  I have serious doubts that I’ll be able to survive the next few weeks. I just have to keep looking forward to the end of the year when I get to move away (again) and return to my university studies. That’s only in what…66 days? Just barely more than two months from now…will I make it?

Stay tuned for the next exciting day in the life of royalty.

 

xoxo Queen V

Leave a Reply

