Towering, by Alex Flinn

I’ve just finished reading Towering, written by Alex Flinn, author of Beastly. Because I have read and quite enjoyed Beastly, I fully expected to enjoy this book. I have to say I was disappointed, honestly. There was simply too many semi-paranormal happenings and coincidental occurrences. I once read in a novel-writing how-to book that a coincidence that gets the protagonist into trouble is good storytelling, but a coincidence that gets the protagonist out of trouble is cheating. In Towering, there was a lot of cheating going on. There was a good plot twist in the story, but anyone who has read as much as I have saw it coming from a mile away. I would rate this book 2 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

